Damar Hamlin Honored as 2023 George Halas Award Winner

Damar Hamlin Honored as 2023 George Halas Award Winner

Damar Hamlin Honored as 2023 George Halas Award Winner

After having a big health scare at the beginning of the year, it seems as if most things have gone great for Buffalo Bills player, Damar Hamlin. The safety has recently been selected as the 2023 George Halas Award winner.

The announcement was made by the Professional Football Writers of America (PFWA) earlier this week. The award goes to an NFL player, coach, or staff member who overcomes the most adversity to succeed.

The Buffalo Bills alerted their fans via the team’s Twitter account.

The PFWA reasoned that the award was given to Hamlin after he suffered cardiac arrest during a nationally-televised Monday Night Football contest and had to be resuscitated while still on the field during a game at Cincinnati. After the nation watched in horror, he was taken to the hospital and went on to make a full recovery.

Hamlin became the 55th player to win the Halas Award winner. He is also the second member of the Bills franchise to receive the honor after Kevin Everett won it in 2008.

The award is named after Halas, who was a charter member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1963. He was affiliated with the Chicago Bears from their inception into the National Football League in 1920 until he passed away in 1983. He was an owner, manager, player, and promoter for the franchise. During his time with the organization, Halas won 324 games and six NFL titles in 40 seasons as a coach.

Hamlin was up against New York Giants running back Saquon Barkley, San Francisco 49ers/Carolina Panthers running back Christian McCaffrey, Washington Commanders running back Brian Robinson Jr., and Seattle Seahawks quarterback Geno Smith.

In February, Hamlin was announced as the NFL Players Association’s winner of the 2023 Alan Page Community Award.

That award is the NFLPA’s highest honor. Every year, the Alan Page Community Award acknowledges one NFL player who demonstrates a dedication so deep that it positively impacts his team’s city and communities across the country. The award was named after Pro Football Hall of Famer Alan Page.

Damar Hamlin Honored as 2023 George Halas Award Winner

Leave a Reply


Verified by MonsterInsights