Def Jam Records Releasing Direct Deposit, Vol. 1 December 2


Def Jam to Release ‘Direct Deposit, Vol. 1’ Compilation, Welcomes New Signee Amir Obe + “No Peace” Video


Def Jam Records will be rolling out a star-studded compilation album called Direct Deposit Vol. 1. The 10-track set hosts hits from esteemed veteran rappers like 2 Chainz (“Big Amount” featuring Drake), Pusha T (“Circles”) and YG (“I Wanna Benz”) as well as buzzy newcomers Desiigner (“Tiimmy Turner Remix”), Dave East (“Stove Top”) and latest signee Amir Obe (“No Peace”).

The rapper — who reps both his native Detroit and second home Brooklyn — delivered Internet favorites like his 2015 EP Happening in the Grey Area and this year’s Love in the Hills EP (standouts from the projects included “Before The Vomit” and the Partynextdoor-assisted “Truth For You”). He also notched a collaboration with Drake on the Toronto MC’s “Star67,” off 2015’s If You’re Reading This It’s Too Late.

“I’m honored to be part of the Def Jam family,” he tells Billboard over e-mail. “To contribute to a legacy & brand that has created history with some of my favorite artists is a blessing. Def Jam prides itself on authenticity & I couldn’t have found a better home.”

To celebrate his signing, Obe also dropped off the semi-animated visual for his moody number “No Peace.”

“I wanted to capture the vibe of “No Peace” visually, and I think we executed providing a journey, a sense of no looking back,” he adds. “We kept it minimal to allow you, the viewer to create your own narrative.”

He will also be streaming the video on his website, and gifting exclusive t-shirts to fans who sign up to the mailing list.

Peep the tracklist for Direct Deposit, Vol. 1 (due Dec. 2) and Amir Obe’s “No Peace” video below.

1.       2 Chainz ft. Drake “Big Amount”
2.       Pusha T “Circles”
3.       YG “One Time Comin”
4.       Desiigner “Tiimmy Turner Remix”
5.       Lajan Slim “Haitians”
6.       Dave East “Stove Top”
7.       YG “I Wanna Benz”
8.       Amir Obe “No Peace”
9.       Trap Beckham “Going Down”
10.     070 Shake “Trust Nobody”




Leave a Reply


Verified by MonsterInsights