The Notorious B.I.G.'s 'Ready To Die' And Doug E. Fresh And Slick Rick's 'La-Di-Da-Di' Inducted Into The National Recording Registry

The Notorious B.I.G.’s ‘Ready To Die’ And Doug E. Fresh And Slick Rick’s ‘La-Di-Da-Di’ Inducted Into The National Recording Registry

Two hip-hop songs from New York City legendary recording artists have been entered into the National Recording Registry.

The Library of Congress has announced the 25 sound recordings inducted into the 2024 National Recording Registry. Along with several recognizable songs from various artists, Doug E. Fresh and Slick Rick’s classic song, “La-Di-Da-Di” which was released in 1985 was included as well as The Notorious B.I.G.‘s title track from his debut album, “Ready To Die” which debuted in 1994.

Other notable artists who made the cut were Johnny Mathis’ “Chances Are” (1957), Lee Morgan’s “The Sidewinder” (1964), Bill Withers’ “Ain’t No Sunshine” (1971), and Bobby McFerrin’s “Don’t Worry, Be Happy” (1988).

“The Library of Congress is proud to preserve the sounds of American history and our diverse culture through the National Recording Registry,” Library of Congress’ Carla Hayden said. “We have selected audio treasures worthy of preservation with our partners this year, including a wide range of music from the past 100 years, as well as comedy. We were thrilled to receive a record number of public nominations, and we welcome the public’s input on what we should preserve next.”

There are now 650 songs that are listed in the registry. There were a record 2,899 nominations placed for consideration by the public for this year’s class. Songs to be considered for next year’s class can be submitted via the website and will be accepted until Oct. 1, 2024.

The songs that made it were “worthy of preservation for all time based on their cultural, historical or aesthetic importance in the nation’s recorded sound heritage.”

Recordings Selected for the 2024 National Recording Registry

(chronological order)

  • “Clarinet Marmalade” – Lt. James Reese Europe’s 369th U.S. Infantry Band (1919)
  • “Kauhavan Polkka” – Viola Turpeinen and John Rosendahl (1928)
  • Wisconsin Folksong Collection (1937-1946)
  • “Rose Room” – Benny Goodman Sextet with Charlie Christian (1939)
  • “Rudolph, the Red-Nosed Reindeer” – Gene Autry (1949)
  • “Tennessee Waltz” – Patti Page (1950)
  • “Rocket ‘88’” – Jackie Brenston and His Delta Cats (1951)
  • “Catch a Falling Star” / ”Magic Moments” – Perry Como (1957)
  • “Chances Are” – Johnny Mathis (1957)
  • “The Sidewinder” – Lee Morgan (1964)
  • “Surrealistic Pillow” – Jefferson Airplane (1967)
  • “Ain’t No Sunshine” – Bill Withers (1971)
  • “This is a Recording” – Lily Tomlin (1971)
  • “J.D. Crowe & the New South” – J.D. Crowe & the New South (1975)
  • “Arrival” – ABBA (1976)
  • “El Cantante” – Héctor Lavoe (1978)
  • “The Cars” – The Cars (1978)
  • “Parallel Lines” – Blondie (1978)
  • “La-Di-Da-Di” – Doug E. Fresh and Slick Rick (MC Ricky D) (1985)
  • “Don’t Worry, Be Happy” – Bobby McFerrin (1988)
  • “Amor Eterno” – Juan Gabriel (1990)
  • “Pieces of Africa” – Kronos Quartet (1992)
  • “Dookie” – Green Day (1994)
  • “Ready to Die” – The Notorious B.I.G. (1994)
  • “Wide Open Spaces” – The Chicks (1998)

Leave a Reply


Verified by MonsterInsights